Software version: 5.1.4
Selects the user interface language. If your own language is not available, you can see if a user generated language file is available.
The following options relate the Windows File Explorer context menus:
If context menus are disabled, Hardwipe can only be used as a standalone application (i.e. from the Start Menu). Note that this option is not available in the Portable Edition of the software.
Show icons on Explorer context menus.
If checked, the Hardwipe window will close after successfully wiping a file from within Explorer. This avoids the extra step of having to close the window where the task was successful. Note the Hardwipe will not close automatically if the operation fails. This operation does not apply to drive or device wiping. The default value is true.
Change the color theme in the main window.
The main menu is rendered using the background color if checked.
If checked, shows an animated graphic on the main window to indicate activity.
Show or hide the menu on the main window.
Show or hide the toolbar on the main window. It is not possible to hide both the toolbar and main menu at once.
Renders the toolbar in a different color if checked.
Sets the toolbar position on the main window.
Selects whether toolbar text is shown below or beside the icons. You can also elect to hide the text.
Sets icon size used in the toolbar.
Allows you select which buttons are shown in the toolbar.
The default sanitization scheme when the application starts. This setting simply defines the overwrite scheme selected by default. You will have the option to select a different scheme before clicking "Start".
Note. You will need to purchase an "Essential Level Upgrade" (or higher) to utilize the advanced "RAZER" sanitization schemes.
Ensures that the "Verification Pass" option is checked by default when the application starts.
The scheme used if a verification pass is selected. This can be one:
The default value is "Last Pass", although the first pass option offers a potential benefit of detecting read-back errors earlier on in the overwrite procedure. With two pass verification, both the first and last write passes are verified.
Note. You will need to purchase an "Essential Level Upgrade" (or higher) to utilize the verification pass feature.
If checked, the wiping process will abort the entire job on a single failure. For example, if multiple files are selected, the wiping process will terminate early if any one of these fail. If unchecked, failures will be flagged, but the process will continue. The default is unchecked.
This causes Hardwipe to request additional confirmation before beginning the wipe of a physical device or logical volume. It is recommended that it is checked.
This options specifies the number of times a file or directory is randomly re-named prior to removal from the file system. It is designed to prevent a file-name itself being recovered, and not just the file's content. The default value is 3.
The maximum allowable number of verification errors (or write failures), expressed as a percentage value, before the operation is terminated and flagged as failed. For example, a 1% value for an entire drive overwrite will mean that errors up to 1% of the drive's total size will be tolerated before the job is aborted. For file wiping, it applies to files individually.
The default value is 1%.
Setting this value to zero will cause the operation to terminate on the first write or verification failure. Note that any I/O error will be flagged as a warning in the log irrespective of this setting, so it is not necessary to set it to zero to be sure of detecting errors.
This allows an output directory to be specified where report logs are to be written. If a valid directory is set, a log file will be generated each time a sanitization task is performed. Log files are written in UTF-8 format.
The default value is empty (disabled). You will need to purchase a "Professional Level Upgrade" to utilize this advanced feature.
This option appears only in the Portable Edition. If checked, log files are written to the local "hw-log" directory. This will reside with the installation, typically on a USB thumb drive. The application should have write access to this location.
If checked, a byte order marker is written to the start of log files.
This option provides for "house cleaning" of old log files. If set to a value other than "Never", old log files in the output directory will be hardwiped (not simply removed) whenever a new log file is written.
The maximum number of lines sent to the audit log window. If this limit is exceeded, logging will stop. The default is 50,000.
If checked, the user and machine names will be included in the log output. The default value is checked.
If checked, fully qualified file-names will be shown for every file item. The default value is unchecked.
This feature checks the language files for missing or obsolete translations. It is intended to help with the creation of new language translation files.
If checked, a suitable system sound will be played on task completion. Note that system sounds must be enabled in Windows itself, otherwise this option does nothing. The default is unchecked.
An "auto-shutdown" option on the main window allows the user to request that the computer be shutdown (or logged off) when the job completes. This is useful if leaving the computer alone to complete a lengthy task. However, shutdown will not normally occur if there is a failure in the sanitization task. This is deliberate, as otherwise, the user may never be aware that there was an issue.
If this option is checked, auto-shutdown will always occur when the sanitization task terminates, even if there was a partial or complete failure.